UK Bus Driver of the Year 2022 - Michael Evans

Stagecoach driver triumphs at 2022 BDoY National Final

Not only has normal service resumed at the Bus Driver of the Year (BDoY) National Final, but entries at this year’s event are up on the previous event in 2019.

Delayed by the Coronavirus pandemic, the 54th National Final held in Blackpool yesterday (Sunday 2 October) attracted 89 entrants who represented 35 large and small operators - and Stagecoach drivers won the top three awards, including Michael Evans of Stagecoach South Wales who is Bus Driver of the Year 2022.

Tom Cunnington, Head of Business Development at Transport for London, presented the awards at a ceremony in the Imperial Hotel where 300 supporters and family joined the competitors to hear the results. Mr Cunnington stressed the added importance of BDoY after the difficulties faced by the industry over the past three years.

Crowned UK Bus Driver of the Year 2022, Michael Evans won the BDoY Trophy and £4,600 prize money. He is a driver for Stagecoach South Wales at its Porth depot, where he has worked for five years having changed career from being a car salesman.

Runner-up was Anthony Quinn from Stagecoach West, winning the BDoY Trophy and £2,100.

In third place was another Stagecoach driver. Ian Field of Stagecoach East Scotland took home the BDoY Trophy and £1,100. Fourth place went to Michael Leech of First West Yorkshire and Brian Mackie of Stagecoach East Scotland was in fifth.

Joe Mackie, Chairman of the UK Bus Driver of the Year Association, congratulated all the trophy winners and thanked the dedicated volunteers who make the competition possible and the industry sponsors for their generous financial support.