About BDoY
How to Enter
The Final
Previous Winners
Contact Us
...to the U.K. Bus Driver of the Year (BDoY) website.
The purpose of this website is to introduce operators, the media and the public to the BDoY Competition, to explain the various processes through which drivers reach the final in Blackpool, and to describe events during the weekend in Blackpool.
UK Bus Driver of the Year 2013 is Gordon Cutting from Stagecoach Oxfordshire
2013 Winner
The National Final of the UK Bus Driver of the Year Competition took place in Blackpool yesterday (Sunday 8 September) and among 105 entries from operators large and small the overall winner was Gordon Cutting from Stagecoach Oxfordshire, who finished 5th in 2012.
Gordon received a £1,000 cheque from ROSCO – the Road Operators’ Safety Council – sponsoring the BDoY top prize for the first time. He also received £500 from Unite the Union and was awarded the John Boxall Medallion as national champion (John founded Bus Driver of the Year in Coventry in 1967). A further £500 was awarded to Gordon as highest-placed competitor from the Stagecoach Group and £50 accompanied by the Giles Fearnley Trophy as best-placed driver from England.
Runner-up was Andrew Hardy from First South Yorkshire, receiving £750 with the Compak Ramps trophy and £250 from the Rail Maritime & Transport Workers’ Union. Andrew was additionally highest-placed FirstGroup competitor, winning £500 and both Best Newcomer and Youngest National Finalist receiving the Ticketer and Mistral Group Shields – each with a £50 cash award.
In third place was Phillip MacDonald of First Bristol, Somerset & Avon, winning the Volvo Bus & Coach Cup plus £500 and the Best Impressions Trophy with £250 – with a further £250 for being second-highest-placed FirstGroup finalist. Philip McAvoy from First Devon & Cornwall, winning the Optare Trophy and £300 plus the GoSkills Cup and £200 finished in overall fourth place and Ted Reid of Stagecoach Bluebird was fifth, picking-up the Scania Trophy and £150 and the McKenna Shield with £100 plus the Kathleen Stark Memorial Shield and £50 as best competitor from Scotland.
Mission Statement
"By pleasurable competition, to raise the standard of passenger care and comfort, to increase the skills of drivers engaged in local and inter-urban road passenger carrying operations, and to promote pride in carrying out those duties.".
Please visit these websites relevant to Bus Driver of the Year's work:
Road Operators' Safety Council
©2003-2014 UK Bus Driver of the Year Association Ltd.
Registered in England, No. 2159826.
Registered office: 12 Powys Street, Atherton, Manchester, M46 9AR.
Design by Insomniac.